After Kamal Nath, Son

After Kamal Nath, Son’s BJP Change Rumours, Nakul Nath Will get Lok Sabha Nod

3 minutes, 50 seconds Read

Nakul Nath (proper) is former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath’s son (File).

New Delhi:

Congress MP Nakul Nath – the son of former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath – has been nominated to defend his Chhindwara Lok Sabha seat within the 2024 general election, the social gathering mentioned Tuesday night because it launched one other trickle of candidates – 43 names so as to add to the 39 final week.

Nath senior and junior had the Congress management on tenterhooks final month amid speculation they could both jump to the Bharatiya Janata Party. Sources had advised NDTV Kamal Nath “sad” with the social gathering after the dismal efficiency within the 2023 Meeting election. Sources mentioned Kamal Nath felt the Congress had modified since he joined over 50 years in the past, and had conveyed this to the social gathering. 

The Congress has denied experiences Kamal Nath would go away, stressing that former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi had known as him her “third son” whereas campaigning for him in 1979. The senior chief reacted days later to close down discuss of a change. “Have you heard this from my mouth?” he requested reporters.

Nakul Nath additionally issued an emphatic denial. “…neither Kamal Nath nor Nakul Nath will be a part of BJP.”

READ | “Neither I Nor My Father Joining BJP”: Kamal Nath’s Son

Chhindwara is the ex-Chief Minister’s stronghold and, considerably, was the one Lok Sabha seat within the state received by the Congress; the BJP swept the opposite 28 en path to a crushing win within the 2019. The social gathering – which dominated the state ballot too – has made it a precedence to win all 29 on this election.

Nonetheless, the selection of Nakul Nath to contest this seat – as a substitute of his father – has raised some eyebrows, significantly after the previous Chief Minister insisted simply 24 hours in the past that he wouldn’t go away the Chhindwara seat. There was discuss Nath senior may contest the Jabalpur seat.

READ | Kamal Nath To Swap Chhindwara For Jabalpur? He Says…

Jabalpur is a BJP bastion; the saffron social gathering has held it because the 1996 election and the sitting MP, Rakesh Singh, is in search of a fifth consecutive win from right here.

Between the three Naths (this consists of Kamal Nath’s spouse Alka Nath’s win in 1996), the Congress has received Chhindwara 11 occasions. In reality, the social gathering has solely ever misplaced this seat to the BJP as soon as – Sunder Lal Patwa did the unthinkable and received Chhindwara in a 1997 bypoll.

Vaibhav Gehlot In Rajasthan

The Congress – routinely attacked by the BJP for “dynastic pilots” – has additionally named one other stalwart’s son as a Lok Sabha candidate. Ex-Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot’s son – Vaibhav Gehlot – will contest from the Jalore constituency that has been a BJP fortress for the previous 4 elections.

The sitting MP, Devji Patel, has received three polls on the trot.

Vaibhav Gehlot was last year questioned by the Enforcement Directorate for nine hours in reference to alleged foreign exchange violations. Mr Gehlot’s questioning got here days earlier than the Rajasthan Meeting election during which the then-ruling Congress was routed.

The youthful Gehlot denied all costs, stating, “Neither nor my household nor I’ve any hyperlinks to FEMA (the International Trade Administration Act) or overseas transactions.”

Dismissing the allegations, Ashok Gehlot mentioned Vaibhav had no overseas change dealings. “Vaibhav Gehlot solely has a taxi firm…” the previous Chief Minister had mentioned.

Gaurav Gogoi’s Assam Change

In the meantime, in its checklist of 43, the Congress additionally named Gaurav Gogoi, who’s the social gathering’s deputy chief within the Lok Sabha. Mr Gogoi will contest the Jorhat seat; in 2014 and 2019 he was fielded from and received the Kaliabor seat, a Congress stronghold.

Jorhat was additionally a Congress seat – from independence to 2009 – until it was flipped by the BJP, with Kamakhya Prasad Tasa successful in 2014 and Topon Kumar Gogoi in 2019.

The Congress – racing to cobble collectively seat-sharing offers with its INDIA bloc allies – has but to announce candidates for a majority of seats it’ll in all probability contest.

This consists of 17 seats in politically essential Uttar Pradesh, the place Priyanka Gandhi Vadra is anticipated to make her electoral debut – from the Raebareli seat vacated by her mom Sonia Gandhi. Rahul Gandhi is anticipated to contest the household’s different UP citadel – Amethi.

READ | Priyanka Gandhi’s Poll Debut From Raebareli, Amethi Redux For Rahul

Mr Gandhi has already been confirmed as a candidate from Kerala’s Wayanad.

NDTV is now accessible on WhatsApp channels. Click on the link to get all the newest updates from NDTV in your chat.

વધુ જાણો

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *