PM Modi To Chair Key Meet To Appoint 2 Election Commissioners On March 15

2 minutes, 44 seconds Read

The election commissioners might be appointed by the President.

New Delhi:

Two election commissioners are more likely to be appointed by March 15 to fill the vacancies created by the retirement of Anup Chandra Pandey and the shock resignation of Arun Goel, sources stated on Sunday.

Days earlier than the ballot panel is predicted to announce the schedule for the Lok Sabha polls, Goel resigned on Friday morning. His resignation was accepted by President Droupadi Murmu on Saturday and the Legislation Ministry issued a notification to announce it.

This leaves Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar as the only real member of the ballot authority.

Pandey had demitted workplace on February 14 on attaining the age of 65 years.

A search committee underneath Legislation Minister Arjun Ram Meghwal and comprising the House Secretary and the Division of Personnel and Coaching (DoPT) Secretary will first put together two separate panels of 5 names every for the 2 posts.

Later, a variety committee headed by the prime minister and comprising a Union minister and Chief of the Congress celebration within the Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury will then identify two individuals for appointment as election commissioners.

The election commissioners might be appointed by the President.

Sources stated the choice committee may meet both on March 13 or 14 relying on the comfort of the members and the appointments are more likely to be made by March 15.

Earlier than a brand new regulation on the appointment of CEC and ECs got here into pressure just lately, the election commissioners have been appointed by the President on the federal government’s suggestion and as per customized, the senior-most was appointed as CEC.

Clause 2 of Article 324 of the Structure states that the Election Fee shall encompass the Chief Election Commissioner and such variety of different Election Commissioners, if any, because the President might every so often repair.

Responding to questions on causes behind Goel’s resignation, the sources stated he might need resigned as a consequence of private causes.

Additionally they rejected strategies that there have been variations between Goel and Kumar, saying information of inner communication, minutes and selections present there was no dissent recorded by Goel.

Goel, who tendered resignation on Friday morning, didn’t attend the essential assembly between the EC and high house ministry and railway officers to agency up deployment and motion of central forces throughout India for ballot responsibility.

Goel was a 1985-batch IAS officer of the Punjab cadre. He had joined the Election Fee in November 2022. His tenure was until December 5, 2027, and he would have grow to be Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) after incumbent Rajiv Kumar retired in February subsequent yr.

Ashok Lavasa had resigned as election commissioner in August 2020. He had given dissent notes on numerous mannequin code violations selections taken by the EC within the final Lok Sabha polls.

Initially, the fee had solely a CEC. It presently consists of the CEC and two election commissioners.

Two further commissioners have been first appointed on October 16, 1989, however that they had a really brief tenure until January 1, 1990. Later, on October 1, 1993, two further election commissioners have been appointed.

The idea of a multi-member EC has been in operation since then, with choice made by a majority vote.

(Aside from the headline, this story has not been edited by NDTV workers and is printed from a syndicated feed.)

વધુ જાણો

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *